Frustration

June 11, 2010


Can we live a frustrated free life? Or do we even want to live a frustrated free live? No one likes being frustrated because that usually means that the situation is out of their control. Frustration can also happen to people who are simply overwhelmed.

Everyone has a capacity to handle frustration to a certain point, but what defines a person is how they handle the situation. Do they handle it by starting the blame game – blaming other people or the situation, or do they introspect and see part they might have contributed and own up to that part. Tonight I was faced with a situation that would have easily frustrated me if I hadn’t been faced with a bigger frustration earlier. The following pictures will tell the story more than I can describe with words.

Mess #1

Mess #2

I have been making the same shake for the past 2 weeks, but this is the first time I made such a mess. I was simply careless and distracted as my hand accidentally knocked the glass over with milk and protein powder in it. I wish I could say that I was smiling and whistling away while cleaning it up. Needless to say, I was irritated and very unhappy. It just had to be done and no one else to be blamed. It was just an unfortunate accident caused by my own carelessness. There was no point of channeling my frustration by screaming, or maybe blame it on the glass that it was there in the way of my swinging hand. Although, that would probably make a good blog story.

As I eluded above, I had a bigger frustration earlier in the day. The frustration mainly related to being blamed for something that I shouldn’t have been put in the situation in the first place. Yes, there were things that I should’ve been paying more attention to and I dropped the ball. I admit that. Maybe I dropped the ball because I didn’t know I had the ball to begin with and somehow it was assumed that I was responsible for it. Or maybe it was just a miscommunication that can happen to anyone.

Either way, there were somethings I learned from this incident. I learned to be more explicit to voice my concern when I spot a potential sticky situation. Leaving it up to assumptions, usually doesn’t turn out so well. I probably should’ve extracted myself from the situation where I didn’t want to get involved in.¬† I also learned to be careful whenever I make a commitment to someone. Does that agreement unfairly put other people in the bind as well, even though the other person may never been given a chance to agree/disagree on the deal?

As I said above, frustration is usually caused by either overwhelmed and/or things going out of control. Unfortunately today, I bear the brunt of someone’s frustration and I had to deal with my own frustration. The most difficult part was that it was coming from someone I care and respect a lot. Someone that has been there for me through my hard time.

As I was reflecting about this situation, I was reminded of Proverbs 16:32

Better a patient man than a warrior,
a man who controls his temper than one who takes a city.

I so needed this reminder for myself.

Leave a Reply

