P90X

April 8, 2010


It has been over a week since I first heard of P90X. For those of you who never heard of it, it’s basically a home extreme work out program. The concept is that the exercise is targeting different muscles every day and constantly challenging the body’s muscles into new growth, so it doesn’t hit a plateau. The program is supposed to last 90 days, and obvious results can be seen at the end of 90 days. Since I never owned any exercise DVDs and I thought this is all just a marketing hype, naturally I was pretty skeptical at first. I saw the ads all over TV and internet and of course, they presented the best results to entice people. I was thinking to myself, “Why would I pick this one over hundred other exercise programs?”

So, I looked more into it. I talked to people who have done this themselves. They all recommended it. So, I finally decided to give it a try. Three reasons I have for doing this (on top of potentially having ripped body and getting in the best shape of my life):
1. I think I need a short term goal in my life to keep me moving forward with excitement.
2. This exercise is hard work. It’s not a quick fix scheme. So, I like the challenge, and hopefully I can overcome it.
3. It comes with nutritional plan for good eating habit. It shows me that this program is realistic as it also focuses on the other important side of being fit.

P90X is so extreme that whoever wants to go through it, has to be able to do certain tests in about 40 minute successions. I’ve tried bits and pieces of the test, like making at least 3 pull-ups or sit against a wall for 2 minutes. But I don’t think I’m qualified to take it yet. It’s kinda pathetic that lately I’ve been spending extra time in the gym just to work on the tests just so I can actually do the P90X.

So, while I’m working up to the qualification, I ordered P90X several days ago and I just got it in the mail today. I’m excited about it but I don’t think I’m going to start doing it until next month since my family is coming in a week and it’ll be hard to try to do both at the same time. I may do some kind of a journal/blog dedicated for this, but I’m not sure yet. I also still need to get the only 2 required equipments: different weight of dumbbells and a sturdy chin-up bar.

I’m hoping that by blogging my intention ahead of time, that I wouldn’t back down that easily.

2 Responses to “P90X”

  1. Allen Says:

    Hey, I have a chin up bar that you can have. You have to screw it into the door frame though. I’ll bring it to work and you can check it out.

  2. Vanini Says:

    Challenging challenge 🙂 Good to have one!


Leave a Reply

