Cut to grow

April 5, 2010


I bought a bunch of house plants toward the end of last fall at Lowe’s when they had sales. Since it was my first time doing this, I figured if I kill the plants, at least they were on sale, right? But because I was totally new at this, I didn’t know what I was doing. I didn’t move any of the plants out of their temporary small plastic pot. I did water them frequently, and for some, that was too frequent because I didn’t even take out the decoration plastic that covers the base of the pot causing the water to not able to drain and it drowned my plants. I didn’t even know this was going on until someone who knows more about house plants told me the plastic for decoration needs to go away and the pots are too small. The temporary pots weren’t meant for long term.

So, this past weekend, we went to Lowe’s to get bigger pots and some high quality soil. We transplanted all the houseplants to the newly purchased pots. We replaced the soil and remove and dried out leaves and flowers.

As I was working on the plants, it occurred to me that there’s parallelism to be drawn between the whole transplanting and pruning with my life or life in general.

1. A plant can only grow so much if the roots were limited by a crammed small pot. The larger the pot is, the more space the roots can grow into, which will cause the plant to grow healthier and bigger. A lot of times, limitations were put in our lives, whether from someone we allow speaking into our lives, or we do it on our own. Fear can also be a big factor for this, or simply not knowing that breaking the limitations was even an option.

To break through and overcome the limitations, sometimes, we need to “transplant” ourselves to a healthier environment. That may means to get a new set of friends or maybe new habits, or maybe new job. Whatever the limitation is, if it becomes the wall in your life and if you want to keep growing, you might need to transplant.

2. Sometimes, I like to try to hold on to something that used to be good and helpful a little bit too long. It was like the decorative plastic and the small pot that looked good but were meant for temporary place. Sometimes it was just comfortable and convenient to just leave the way things are regardless of how destructive they can be if they have passed their time. It’s like a battery that’s left in for too long that the juice started to ooze out and damage the electronic.

3. When I was hurt, sometimes I hold resentment toward the person, or the situation. That could cause my relationship with the person to dry up like the brown leaves or dried up flowers. Until I was willing to let go and forgive, it was like leaving the brown leaves on the plant and hoping the plant will be able to have a healthy growth, which is not likely to happen. So, by cutting off the dead leaves, I’m essentially saying that I’m letting go anything I can use against the person. By doing that, as the new growth with the plant is stimulated, my relationship with other people will be also.

One Response to “Cut to grow”

  1. Peggy Says:

    Maybe growth and transformation is why I love gardening so much. It is wonderful to take something that has potential, give it space, and watch it take off!


Leave a Reply

